Time and time again I disavow being an expert on ANYTHING.  I’m just uncomfortable with it.  Maybe…maybe I’m an expert on me…and that’s about it.

I prefer to say I’m a student.  I’m certainly a student of life and people and  relationships.  I have been for 59 years now.

But when people call me a Social Media “expert” or “guru”… I just cringe.  There are thousands of people whose knowledge of Social Networks FAR surpasses my meager skills, and I’m not even sure THEY’RE comfortable being called experts.  People like Brian Solis and Robert Scoble and Chris Brogan.

I don’t think my experience with New Media makes me even uniquely positioned to coach voice actors on FaceBook, Twitter, LinkedIn and so forth.  The things you do to get clients as a freelance photographer, writer, plumber, or car salesman on social networks will work for you as a voice-actor too.

That is the lousiest build-up to a promotional announcement for an upcoming webinar I’ve ever seen.  But at least you can say I’m honest.

Here’s what I will tell you if you sign-up for my Edge Studio Social Media Webinar this Saturday:

  • The over-arching mind-set you must have to create relationships, trust, and clients on Social Media.
  • What and how and when to Tweet.
  • Understanding FaceBook’s ever-changing interface.
  • Using LinkedIn’s powerful search functions.
  • Why you need to join groups on social media platforms.
  • Video. Video. Video.
  • Google Plus, and why you should care.
  • What is Pinterest?
  • Blogging successfully.

Just because I’m not an expert doesn’t mean I won’t talk A LOT about what I DO know.  The above list of topics are but a framework for working through the broad, deep, and tall topic of Social Media.  I’ll fill in lots of blanks, and work from a PowerPoint presentation that will outline all my thoughts.

We’ll leave plenty of time for questions and (hopefully) answers at the end.  The whole thing is scheduled for Saturday, 5-19-12 9am PST / 10am Mountain / 11am Central / Noon Eastern.  Again, you can see all the details and sign-up here:  http://www.edgestudio.com/social-media-marketing-for-voice-over.

C Ya There!

CourVO

Comments

comments